Lydia Ko, Steven Alker and Scottie Scheffler have been voted 2022 Players of the Year in their respective divisions by the Golf Writers Association of America.
Ko won three times in 2022, winning early (Gainbridge LPGA) and winning late (CME Group Tour Championship), bringing her LPGA victory total to 19. She was Rolex Player of the Year, won the Vare Trophy for low scoring average (68.99), and finished among the top 5 in putting, rounds under par, birdies and sub-par holes.
Alker, 51, finished in the top 3 in 13 of his 23 starts, won four times – including his first senior major, the KitchenAid Senior PGA Championship – and captured the season-long Charles Schwab Cup. Alker earned 50.3 percent of first-place votes to beat out Padraig Harrington and Steve Stricker.