The PGA Acknowledges and thanks our partners without whom this event would have not have been possible 

 PGA Principle Partner - Institute of Golf 
                                                                                                                                       NZPGA Championship Partners 
                                                                                                                                    SBS Bank                   Mackersy Property                                   
Countdown to the 85th New Zealand PGA Championship underway

With just three weeks left until some of the best Professional players in New Zealand tee it up at the 2021 New Zealand PGA Championship, attention has turned to the intriguing new team’s element of the tournament.

Earlier today the New Zealand PGA announced the regional Team Captains and laid out the format for both the NZ PGA Championship and the teams’ competitions. With their captains in place and the regional teams starting to assemble, the inaugural Teams Trophy competition is shaping up to be one of the years golfing highlights.

The 2021 New Zealand PGA Championship will be celebrating both the home clubs and regions where the tournaments players started their love for the game. From Northland to Southland each region of New Zealand will field a team and with live scoring during the tournament, local clubs and their members will be able to follow players and share the excitement of this historic tournament.

Each team in the Trophy teams’ event will consist of up to four play with the top two scores counting for each round. The teams will be made up of both men and women professional and amateur players who will represent the regions of their first club of origin.

Hamish Campbell, the New Zealand PGA Teams Event Manger believes that this event highlights the regional pride that professionals really miss when they make the change from amateur to professional.

“As professionals we really love the team experience and there are not many opportunities in the professional side of the golf do this” said Campbell.

“To be representing the region and club where golf started your journey is a special part of the Rohe Trophy team’s event and we can’t wait to see the camaraderie during the week”.

“This is a special part of the 2021 New Zealand PGA Championship and bringing together Men and Women players at both the professional and amateurs’ levels to celebrate the game of golf what it’s all about” said Campbell.

General Manager of the New Zealand PGA, Dominic Sainsbury is excited about what the team’s element will bring to the overall Championship.

“We really want to celebrate golf at the grassroots, where the love of the game is nurtured and recognising where it all began for our members”

“The Teams trophy event is a nice connection to the local communities throughout New Zealand and highlights what golf can bring to all those who engage in the game” said Sainsbury.


About the New Zealand PGA Championship
The New Zealand PGA Championship has been played since 1909 and 2021 will mark the 85th playing of this illustrious tournament.

Past winners of the New Zealand PGA Championship include Andrew Shaw, Ted Douglas, Alex Murray, Bob Glading, Kel Nagle, Sir Bob Charles, Greg Turner, Frank Nobilo, Michael Hendry, Brad Kennedy and Ben Campbell.

Current title holder Kazuma Kobori won the title as an amateur in 2019 at Pegasus Golf Club just north of Christchurch, winning by a four stroke margin over David Smail posting a total of 21 under par, 267.

The Team Event Trophy
The teams’ event will be held alongside the New Zealand PGA Championship. Teams made up of four players who will represent the region of their first golf club. Scoring will be made up from the top two scores from each round. The team who posts the lowest cumulative score across the four rounds (eight scores in total) will be awarded the inaugural Trophy.

Team Captains and their current line ups:






Taylor Gill

Luke Brown

Christian Nitsche

Kylie Jacoby


Tae Koh

Fraser Wilkin

Ryan Fox 

Carmen Lin

North Harbour

Jerry Ren

Mark Hutson

Hanee Song

Jimmy Hydes


Dong Woo Kang

Luke Toomey

Tyler Wood

Bay of Plenty

Kieran Muir

Mason lee

Jordan Loof

Catelin Maurice

Hawkes Bay

Pieter Zwart

Tessa McDonald

Mako Thompson


Troy Ropiha

Grant Moorhead

Tara Raj

Sam Jones


Lachie McDonald

Trent Munn

Bridie Hodge

Tyler Hodge


Harry Bateman

Mark Brown

Dan Hillier

Darae Chung


Nick Loach

Ryan Chisnall

Hamish Campbell



Momoka Kobori

Oscar Cadenhead

Matt Mclean

Kazoma Kobori

Lower South

James Anstiss

David Klein 

Laura Hoskin

Matt Tautari

Te Puke

Jared Pender

Josh Geary

James Tauariki

Jessica Green


Ben Campbell

Harry Na

Phillis Meti 

Jared Edwards